TExES Core Subjects EC-6 Teacher Certification

The TExES Core Subjects EC-6 (391) includes five subject exams:

English Language Arts and Reading.
Social Studies.
Fine Arts, Health, and Physical Education.

A minimum of 24 credit hours in (math, science, social studies, and English) are required for admission to the program if you want to get certified in EC-6 Core Subjects.

The TExES CORE Subjects EC-6 is an exam you must pass if you want to teach English, math, science, social studies, music, art, health and physical education, and Early Childhood through 6th grade at the elementary level in Texas.

The exam consists of 5 individually graded subtests that contain a total of 210 multiple choice questions and you must score a 240 on each subject exam. You will have a total of 5 hours to complete all five subtests.

The CORE Subjects EC-6 is difficult because you must pass each subtest and each subtest is individually timed as outlined below.
Testing time:

English Language Arts and Reading: 1 hour and 10 minutes
Mathematics: 1 hour and 10 minutes
Social Studies: 50 minutes
Science: 55 minutes
Fine Arts, Health and Physical Education: 35 minutes

If you are interested in getting your Texas teaching certificate in EC-6 Core Subjects,
submit your application for free today and a program specialist will review your college transcripts to see if you are eligible.